Lagniappe Volume 10

Marcel Ciampi:
The Complete 78 rpm Solo Recordings

Total time: [67:04]

French Columbia

Studio Albert, Paris, 1928-1931
1. Polonaise in E-flat Minor, Op. 26, No. 2 5:28
  15 June 1929; (WL 1734-35) D 13104  
2. Nocturne in C Minor, Op. 48, No. 1 7:11
  15 June 1929; (WLX 1071-882) D 15226  
3. Scherzo No. 2 in B-flat Minor, Op. 31 7:09
  19 June 1929; (WLX 883-884) D 15225  
4. Waltz in A-flat, Op. 69, No. 1 5:02
  15 June 1929; (WL 1732-33) D 13103  
5. Legende No. 2, “St. Francois de Paule marchant sur les flots” 8:07
  9 December 1931; (WLX 789-4/790-3) LFX 186  
6. Hungarian Rhapsody No. 11 4:19
  1 July 1931; (WLX 1581-1) LFX 248  
7. Etude No. 5 in E, “La Chasse” 3:13
  December 1931; (WL 3401) LF 106  
8. Le vent dans la plaine (No. 3 from Preludes, Book I) 2:07
  3 May 1929; (WL 1621-1) D 13105  
9. Les collines d’Anacapri (No. 5 from Preludes, Book I) 3:05
  11 June 1928; (WL 1158-3) D 13075  
10. La fille aux cheveux de lin (No. 8 from Preludes, Book I) 2:13
  11 June 1928; (WL 1157-4) D 13074  
11. La serenade interrompue (No. 9 from Preludes, Book I) 2:27
  11 June 1928; (WL 1159-3) D 13075  
12. La cathédrale engloutie (No. 10 from Preludes, Book I) 5:23
  11 June 1928; (WL 1154-3/1155-4) D 13073  
13. La danse de Puck (No. 11 from Preludes, Book I) 2:35
  11 January 1929; (WL 1393) D 13105  
14. Minstrels (No. 12 from Preludes, Book I) 2:11
  11 June 1928; (WL 1156-2) D 13074  
15. Feux d’artifice (No. 12 from Preludes, Book II) 4:02
  1 July 1931; (WLX 1580-1) LFX 248  
16. Etude in B Minor 2:32
  December 1931; (WL 3402-2) LF 106  


Marston would like to thank Françoise Morand-Doué and Cécile Ousset for the photos of Marcel Ciampi.

Producer: Ward Marston

Audio Conservaton: Ward Marston

Audio Assistance: J. Richard Harris

Booklet Design: Takeshi Takahashi

Original sound recording copyright by EMI Records Limited. Remastering copyright by H. W. Marston and Company. Unauthorized public performance broadcasting and copying of this recording prohibited. Marston, U. S. A.


Marcel Ciampi was born in Paris on 29 May 1891 into a family of musicians. His uncle, Théodore Ritter, had studied with Liszt and toured extensively; his father Ezio Caimpi, and his mother Cécile Ritter-Ciampi, were professional singers; and his sister, Gabrielle Ritter-Ciampi, became one of the great French sopranos of the 1920s and ‘30s. Although he studied at the Paris Conservatory with Louis Diémer, his most influential teacher was Marie Perez de Brambilla, a former student of Anton Rubinstein who is credited with introducing the Russian school of pianism into France. Critics praised Ciampi’s early performances for their “great musical imagination,” “perfect technique,” and “furious temperament.” His repertoire was comprehensive, featuring the major solo works of Beethoven, Chopin, Schumann, Liszt, and Debussy (with whom he had coached) and including music by Franck, Scriabin, Poulenc, and Enescu (who dedicated his Third Sonata to him).

Ciampi was also very active as a chamber musician, collaborating in concerts throughout Europe with George Enescu, Pablo Casals, Jacques Thibaud, André Hekking, and Yvonne Astruc (whom he married in 1920). His 1927 recording of Franck’s Quintet, with the Capet Quartet, is justly famous.

Ciampi was an illustrious teacher at the Paris Conservatory (1941–1961), where his students included Yvonne Loriod, Cécile Ousset, Eric Heidsieck, and Jean-Paul Sevilla. He formed close ties with Yehudi Menuhin and his family and taught Hephzibah, Yalta, and Jeremy Menuhin; later he taught at the Menuhin School, near London. Ciampi’s recordings, unfortunately not numerous, reflect a subtle approach to sound combined with a real projection of spontaneity. He died in Paris on 2 September 1980.

—Charles Timbrell